Crowd Learning

I have just learned of “crowd learning” and I have to say it is a very interesting topic to discuss in education today.  For those who do not know, crowd learning, is a type of learning that occurs through technology.  This type of learning is not just for students and it is not just for adults, it is for anyone who wants to learn about any topic out there.

At first I was thinking I could not use a form of “crowd learning” in my kindergarten classroom, but the more I think about it the more I think it is possible.  First, I could use it in a small crowd form just using my students.  For example, my students are going to start learning about apples and Johnny Appleseed next week and to introduce the topic I could ask each student to draw a picture to share with the class or discuss with the class anything they know about apples.  Another way to use “crowd learning” in my classroom is by using the internet.  If my students had a topic they were not grasping we could “google” it as a class and see what we find.  I think “crowd learning” is a great way to get my students involved, in away that is not normally done in early childhood classrooms.

While researching more about the topic I found some very interesting resources that teachers could use or anyone who wants to learn about many different topics.  I first found that “crowd learning” is also known as “crowd-sourced learning” and there is a website Learning and Talent Management  which gives a little more information of this type of learning and how it first started in the UK.  Another awesome website I found was mylearningworx .  This website has a large variety of courses you could sign up to take on many different topics.  Some of the courses are free and some cost money.  Also, if you had a subject you would like to teach you could create a course, which I find awesome.  Finally, I found a small resource on TED (which I’m sure we have all heard about or seen/used before) that talks about “crowd-sourced learning” and how it is collaborative learning.

In this day of age I think any form of technology that can be used appropriately in the classroom benefits the students.  Unlike when I was growing up these students have been raised on technology (some of my kindergartners probably can use it better then me) and it is something that can keep their interest.  I am not saying technology should replace all forms of teaching but I believe teachers can and should start using it more in their everyday teaching, no matter the age that they teach.  “Crowd learning” just shows all the resources the internet has to learn and I have been using a form of this learning for many years without knowing.  Now that I know exactly what “crowd learning” is and better resources out there, I can not wait to learn more.

7 thoughts on “Crowd Learning

  1. I too teach Kindergarten and really had a hard time grasping this style of learning for my class. But after reading your blog, I realized I already do Crowd Learning!!! Thanks:)

  2. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on how to use this in an elementary classroom. This is something I would like to research farther. Did you find any resources that would be helpful?

  3. I think crowd learning is wonderful! I makes learning relevant to the students. In a lot of cases students do this at home on their own, using twitter and facebook as the media. Learning happens without them even knowing it! If a teacher can shape the area of focus for the crowd learning it can be a wonderful tool for a classroom. Thank you for the links they were very helpful.

  4. I really like the crowd learning because it is a problem and solution kind of learning. So when a student has a question they can have a resource to go to to find the answer. It is a great student center type of learning. This allows for students to learn from experts in the field they are curious about. This is knowledge the teacher might not necessarily have.

  5. Crowd learning sounds like what I do when a student asks me a question I don’t know the answer to. 🙂
    Using technology to accomplish our goals in the classroom really needs to be second nature to us. Students should learn to rely on every resource to find answers to their curiosities and interests.

  6. I concentrated on the seamless learning aspect of the paper, but I can see that crowd learning could very easily work hand in hand with seamless learning. It would both enhance the topics being learned and encourage collaboration between students. Thanks so much for explaining this!

Leave a Reply

